Investigative Division

The Investigative Division is comprised of the Hennepin County Violent Offender Task Force, Narcotics Task Forces, Detective Unit, and Criminal Information Sharing & Analysis (CISA).

Hennepin County Violent Offender Task Force (HC-VOTF)

HC-VOTF conducts proactive, focused investigations on the county's most violent offenders who are engaging in suspected illegal activity and have a violent history based on arrests or convictions for homicides, weapons, aggravated robberies, narcotics, and assaults.  The goal is to reduce violent crime in Hennepin County.

HC-VOTF includes personnel from the Sheriff's Office, the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA), the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), the U.S. Marshals Service, and the following police departments: Brooklyn Park, Brooklyn Center, Golden Valley, and Richfield.  HC-VOTF also works as a force multiplier.  If crime increases in a certain community or area of the county, HC-VOTF may provide additional personnel to work with local law enforcement.

Detective Unit

Each year, Sheriff's detectives conduct hundreds of investigations into all varieties of criminal activity ranging from property crimes to violent crimes, including homicides.

The Sheriff's Detective Unit conducts investigations in the following jurisdictions: in communities where the Sheriff's Office is the primary provider of law-enforcement services, in communities where the local police department lacks the resources to provide full-time investigators, and in county facilities including the Hennepin County Medical Center, Adult Corrections Facility, and the County Home School.

Detectives are assigned to several specialty assignments: the FBI Joint Terrorism Task Force (JTTF), the County Attorney's Office, and the Northwest Collaboration (Brooklyn Park, Brooklyn Center, and Hennepin County Sheriff's Office).

Five detectives work full-time with the Hennepin County Attorney's Office.  Two detectives are assigned to the CODIS team which conducts criminal investigations and identifies suspects using CODIS.  (CODIS is the Combined DNA Index System, a national database of known offenders).

Task Forces

The Sheriff's Office is committed to strong investigative partnerships with federal, state, and local law enforcement. Narcotics task forces include officers from different agencies to promote collaboration and to provide geographi coverage for narcotics investigations. The Sheriff's Office supervises the Southwest Hennepin drug Task Force and the West Metro Drug Task Force.  Also, deputies are assigned to the Northwest Metro Drug Task Force, the Drug Enfrocement Agency (DEA), and the FBI Fugitive Task Force.

Criminal Information Sharing & Analysis Unit (CISA)

CISA provides timely analysis of criminal information to area law enforcement agencies.  CISA provides a platform for agencies to share information about related crimes and provides crime pattern and trend analysis.  Specialized software assists with predictive policing during crime sprees. This helps identify suspects more quickly and predicts where the next crime may occur.  CISA has been recognized as a national model for its success as a criminal information sharing unit.

Partnership within metro-area law enforcement

CISA has assisted with organizing several effective partnerships among law enforcement agencies and the criminal justice system.

The collaborative groups are organized by geographic region and each has the same goal - to reduce violent crime.  Each group meets frequently to collaborate about ways to reduce criminal activity, identify suspects who are active in several jurisdictions, and prevent future crimes.

CISA organizes the information that is shared among the investigators, adds further analysis, and redistributes the information back out to law enforcement agencies.  Detectives in the participating agencies frequently credit the collaborations with solving cases faster and building stronger cases to present for prosecution.

West Hennepin County Crime Collaboration

Hennepin County Sheriff’s Office
Corcoran Police
Deephaven Police
Medina Police
Minnetrista Police
Orono Police
Rogers Police
South Lake Minnetonka Police
Three Rivers Park District Police
West Hennepin Public Safety
Wayzata Police
Carver County Sheriff’s Office
Hennepin County Attorney’s Office
Hennepin County Community Corrections

Northwest Hennepin County Crime Collaboration

Hennepin County Sheriff’s Office
Brooklyn Park Police
Brooklyn Center Police
Champlin Police
Maple Grove Police
Minneapolis Police
Plymouth Police
Robbinsdale Police
Crystal Police
New Hope Police
Hennepin County Attorney’s Office
Hennepin County Community Corrections

Southwest Hennepin County Crime Collaboration

Hennepin County Sheriff’s Office
Bloomington Police
Eden Prairie Police
Edina Police
St. Louis Park Police
Golden Valley Police
Minnetonka Police
Minneapolis Police
Richfield Police
Hopkins Police
Hennepin County Attorney’s Office
Hennepin County Community Corrections

Metro Regional Information Collaboration (MRIC)

Hennepin County Sheriff’s Office
Ramsey County Sheriff’s Office
Washington County Sheriff’s Office
Anoka County Sheriff’s Office
Dakota County Sheriff’s Office
Carver County Sheriff’s Office
Sherburne County Sheriff’s Office
McLeod County Sheriff's Office

*MRIC was launched in 2012