Terms of a redemption
Most properties sold in a foreclosure can be redeemed by the mortgagor.
- In most cases, the redemption period is six months or twelve months.
- A redemption period can be reduced to five weeks by an action taken either before or after a sheriff’s sale.
- These redemptions are regulated by MInnesota Statute 580, Minnesota Statute 581, and Minnesota Statute 582). Redemptions can be completed either with the sheriff’s office or with the holder of the sheriff’s certificate of sale.
Redemption by mortgagor
To get a certificate of redemption from the sheriff’s office:
1) Submit a written request, either by mail or in person, with a $250 fee to 350 S 5th Street, Room 30, Mpls, MN 55415.
- We strongly advise you submit your request at least 7-10 days before the anticipated redemption date.
- To help you make your request, you can use our sample request form (PDF).
2) The sheriff’s office will inform you of the redemption amount.
The redemption amount is determined by:
- Amount bid at the foreclosure sale.
- Interest accruing from the date of sale to the date of redemption. This is computed at the rate of interest as stated in the certificate of sale.
- Additional amounts paid by the purchaser at the foreclosure sale, which can include insurance, taxes, attorney fees, etc. The purchaser must provide an affidavit of allowable costs, if any, to the sheriff.
3) Make payment of the redemption amount to the sheriff’s office. Payment must be made by electronic wire, cash, or a cashier’s check made payable to Hennepin County Sheriff. No other type of funds are accepted.
Deliver funds to 350 South Fifth Street, Room 30, Mpls, MN 55415, on business days between 9 a.m. and 4 p.m.
Redemption by creditor
- After the mortgagor’s redemption period has expired, and the mortgagor has not redeemed, redemptions may be made by other parties who hold junior liens.
- This redemption process includes the same steps for redemption by mortgagor, but has additional legal requirements.
- The creditor must, at least one week before the end of the owner’s redemption period, file a recorded copy of their notice of intent to redeem along with a copy of the lien, with the sheriff’s office, for a fee of $100. See Minnesota Statute 580.24
- On the same day the creditor delivers redemption funds to the sheriff, the creditor must also deliver an original affidavit identifying their lien and stating the amount due on the lien. See Minnesota Statute 580.25
If a certificate of redemption is issued by any party other than the sheriff, file a recorded copy of the certificate, (and, if applicable, affidavit of amount due) with the sheriff’s office. The filing fee is $20.